About EPSCoR

The Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) was established by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 1979. The program goal: to strengthen U.S. research and education in science and engineering.

In 1991-92, other federal agencies formed similar EPSCoR programs. States qualifying for NSF EPSCoR funds are then eligible to apply for EPSCoR funds from other federal agencies.

In 2004, the National Science Foundation designated New Hampshire an EPSCoR state. That designation qualified N.H. researchers to apply for other federal agency EPSCoR funds.

New Hampshire's NASA EPSCoR is administerd throught the N.H. Space Grant at the University of New Hampshire.

Seven federal agencies now have EPSCoR programs: the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, Dept. of Defense, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Dept. of Energy, and Environmental Protection Agency.

  NASA logo

New Hampshire's NASA EPSCoR
Technical Advisory Committee

Dr. Antoinette Galvin, Chair
NASA NH EPSCoR Director, New Hampshire Space Grant Consortium Director, Commissioner for the state of New Hampshire, and TAC Chair

Dr. Jan Nisbet
Senior Vice Provost for Research at UNH, and Director of NH EPSCoR. Prof. Nisbet is a founding director of the university's Institute on Disability.

Mr. Christopher Bancroft
Owner and CEO of Bancroft's Computer Services, Wakefield, NH. His company provides consulting and development of optical, x-ray, and other sensor systems for various clients since 1991. Mr. Bancroft works in the Space Science Center at UNH on a number of NASA balloon payload packages and has a patent-pending high voltage power design of interest for space instrumentation systems.

Ms. Jean Gerulskis
Executive Director of the McAuliffe-Shepard Discovery Center, Ms. Gerulskis has an extensive background in fundraising, membership development, and museum management. Prior to her work at the Discovery Center, she served as Senior Curator of Programs (Northwest Coast Native Arts & Culture, Alaskan History, Arts, and Culture) for the Totem Heritage Center and Tongass Historical Museum in Ketchikan, Alaska.

Dr. Charles Goodspeed
An Assoc. Professor of Civil Engineering at UNH, Dr. Goodspeed is also Director of the UNH Transportation Technology Transfer Center, which provides technology, services, and education for public works departments. His research includes investigating the use of concrete reinforced with Fiber Reinforced Plastic (FRP) products, investigating the use of High Performance Concrete (HPC) in highway construction, and developing management software for local highway officials. He also serves as an elected official on the Zoning Board of Adjustment in Epping, N.H. (term expiring in 2016), and as a Harvey Mitchell Memorial Library Trustee in Epping, NH (term expiring 2016). He served on the Epping, N.H., Budget Committee from 2009-2012.

Dr. Samuel Miller
Associate Professor of Meteorology at Plymouth State University, Dr. Miller serves as Director of Research for the Judd Gregg Meteorology Institute. He is the NH Space Grant Affiliate Representative from Plymouth State University.

Dr. Mark McConnell
Professor of Physics, Chair of the Physics Department at UNH, and UNH Space Grant Affiliate representative

Dr. Robyn Millan
An Assoc. Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Dartmouth College, Robyn Millan is an experimental physicist specializing in the processes acting on energetic particles in both the atmosphere and in space, and in developing new experimental methods for studying these processes. She has undergraduate degrees in Physics and Astronomy from U. C. Berkeley (1995) and a Ph. D. in Physics from U. C. Berkeley (2002). She came to Dartmouth College in 2002 as a NASA Spacegrant Visiting Young Scientist and joined the Dartmouth Faculty in 2005.

Dr. Mary Hudson
a Professor of Physics and Dartmouth College Space Grant Affiliate representative. Prof. Hudson served as the Chair of her department for eight years and is currently a principal investigator with the NSF-funded Center for Integrated Space Weather Modeling (CISM). She is an elected Fellow of the American Geophysical Union.

Kristi Donahue
Assistant Director, New Hampshre Space Grant Consortium.